Santa Ines Mission

Santa Inés Mission

Santa Inés Virgen y Martír, located in Solvang, California, in the Santa Ynez Valley, was founded on September 17, 1804. Also known as Santa Inés, this mission was named after Saint Agnes of Rome, a thirteen year-old Roman girl martyred in A.D. 304. This mission was never totally abandoned after secularization.

Facts About This Mission

General Information

Santa Inés Virgen y Martír

Founded:
September 17, 1804
Also Called:
Santa Inés
Current Status:
Santa Inés is an active Catholic Church of the Archdioces of Los Angeles.
Summary:
Santa Inés Virgen y Martír, located in Solvang, California, in the Santa Ynez Valley, was founded on September 17, 1804. Also known as Santa Inés, this mission was named after Saint Agnes of Rome, a thirteen year-old Roman girl martyred in A.D. 304. This mission was never totally abandoned after secularization.

Visitor Information

Address

1760 Mission Drive
Solvang, CA 93463
United States

Get Directions
Website(s)
Phone

Old Mission Gift Shop: 805-688-4815

Parish: 805-688-4815

Hours
Fees
Tours
Santa Ines Entrance Sign
Sign at the Entrance of Santa Ines

Self-guided tours are available from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tour Audio tapes available at the gift shop.

Church Services
Santa Ines Church Interior
Santa Ines Church Interior

Saturday
8:00 a.m. (English)
5:00 p.m. (English) Vigil Mass
7:00 p.m. (Español)

Sunday
8:00 a.m. (English)
9:30 a.m. (English)
11:00 a.m. (English)
12:30 p.m. (Español)
5:00 p.m. (English)

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. (English)
 

Weddings and Other Special Services

Santa Inés welcomes couples who want to have Catholic marriages held in the historic mission church. Arrangements have to be made at least 6 months in advance. Further details are available on the mission website. 
 

Contact the parish administrator, Sheila Benedict, (805) 688-4815, for answers to any questions you have and for date availability. The mission facilities are not available for Wedding Receptions.

Special Events

An Annual Fiesta (typically on August 18), which benefits the mission. 

Each year the Rancheros Visitadores (hundreds of riders on horseback and in wagons, all wearing pinks) make an annual ride from Solvang to Santa Ines, raising money to fight cancer. They stop at Mission Santa Inés for the blessing of their horses. 

Unique Attractions
Cloister Gardens Behind Mission
Cloister Gardens Behind Mission

This well preserved, handsome mission was never totally abandoned. California’s first seminary/college was built on this site in 1844. 

The mission church’s interior design dates to 1825. The nave was recently embellished with additional floral motifs. 

Santa Inés is known for the number and quality of its mission-era paintings. A painting of the Archangel Raphael in the mission museum was done a mission neophyte.

The mission also has an extensive collection of church vestments, which date from the 17th century. 

The inviting grounds behind the mission has a formal garden.

The historic cemetery of this mission is located behind the bell tower and can only be reached from the back as the front gate is typically locked.

Entrance Cross
Entrance Cross

Santa Ines has an attractive, spacious area with outdoor Stations of the Cross

Tips for Visitors

Allocate several hours to explore and enjoy this mission and its special attractions, , particularly the museum and grounds. 
 

At the rear of the large parking area in front of the mission (near the exit road) you can see in the distance the ruins of the mission’s old grist mill and wool processing mill constructed in 1820. The Zanja de Cota Creek fed this grist mill system, which consisted of two large stone reservoirs, a stone mill building with a water-propelled horizontal wheel and mill stone, and a network of zanjas or canals. A second (fulling) mill was added at the upper end of the large reservoir in 1821.

There is no public access to mill ruins. There is a telescope mounted near the edge of the parking lot for viewing. These photographs (taken in 2002 during a private tour) show part of the complex. The mill ruins are now owned by the California State Parks, with long-term plans to provide public access in a new State Park in Solvang.) 

Other Historic Sites

If you have time, explore the town of Solvang, founded in 1911 by a group of Dutch educators. This is an ideal place for lunch or dinner.

Additional Information

Discover More Information About California's Rich History

Browse the Mission Resource Store, where we have everything from maps to trading cards to help immerse you in the California Missions and more.

Browse Resources