Nuestra Señora de la Soledad

Nuestra Señora de la Soledad Mission

Nuestra Señora de la Soledad was founded on October 9, 1791. Mission Soledad was abandoned for almost 100 years, then carefully restored between 1954 – 1962. The simple chapel and padre’s quarters, and the ruins of the mission’s adobe walls accurately depict what was one of the most isolated of the California missions. 

Facts About This Mission

General Information

Nuestra Señora de la Soledad

Founded:
October 9, 1791
Also Called:
Soledad Mission
Current Status:
Restored Mission Site. The mission church is considered a chapel of Our Lady of Solitude Catholic Church. the Parish church in the town of Soledad.
Summary:
Nuestra Señora de la Soledad was founded on October 9, 1791. Mission Soledad was abandoned for almost 100 years, then carefully restored between 1954 – 1962. The simple chapel and padre’s quarters, and the ruins of the mission’s adobe walls accurately depict what was one of the most isolated of the California missions. 

Visitor Information

Address

36641 Fort Romie Road
Soledad, CA 93960
United States

Get Directions
Website(s)
Phone

831-678-2586

Hours

Sun - Sat: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Closed 1st of January, Easter, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas Day.

Fees

Donation requested but there is no fixed entrance fee.

Tours

Self-guided unless a group tour is scheduled by calling the mission gift shop.

Church Services

Mass is held on the first Sunday of every month at 10 a.m. (except in June when it's held on the last Sunday). There is also a sunrise service on Easter.

Weddings and Other Special Services

Weddings, baptisms, and other services are normally held at Our Lady of Solitude Parish Church in the town of Soledad (235 Main Street). 

Use of the Mission Chapel for services has to be discussed with the Parish, 831-678-2731.

 

Special Events

Special events held periodically including music concerts, arts & craft shows and auctions. These events raise funds to support the mission. The mission’s informative website has details. 

Attractions

This mission complex is unique. The simple chapel and padre’s wing sits within agricultural fields that are still farmed, with no commercial buildings nearby. 

Mission ChapelThe Daughters of the Golden West restored the Chapel in 1954.  

Soledad Altar A statue of our Lady of Sorrows is the center piece on the church altar. 

Convento Wing The convento wing (which now contains a gift shop and museum) was restored in 1963. 

The Soledad church was originally located at the east end of the padre’s quarters. It was destroyed in a flood c. 1824. The location of this first church is well marked. There are long-range plans to rebuild this church.

Junipero Serra Statue There is a statue of the founder of the mission, Junipero Serra, behind the open parking area in front of the mission. 

Ruins of Soledad adobe wallsSoledad has some of the most haunting ruins of old adobe mission walls you will find in California. 

Tips for Visitors

Mission Soledad is an easy stop along Route 101. Don’t miss seeing this mission whose simplicity and isolation give the visitor a sense of how difficult life must have been in this remote spot two centuries ago. 

Walk the grounds, which are well marked. Be sure to go far enough in the back of the mission buildings to see the old adobe walls.  (If it has rained recently, be warned that the dirt roads/paths in the back can be muddy.)

Additional Information

Discover More Information About California's Rich History

Browse the Mission Resource Store, where we have everything from maps to trading cards to help immerse you in the California Missions and more.

Browse Resources